COGTA machinery and systems are firmly in place to establish Local Houses of Traditional Leaders (LHTL) by the end of September 2017, MEC Fikile Xasa announced today.

MEC Xasa said Chairpersons of Traditional Councils (TC) will convene Imbizo meetings in their communities on 07 September 2017 (tomorrow) to select three (3) people who will then take part in the election process on 18 September 2017.

The Houses will be stablished in Alfred Nzo, Chris Hani, Amathole, Joe Gqabi, OR Tambo and Buffalo City Metro Municipalities. There will be no Houses in Sarah Baartman and Nelson Mandela Metro as there are no traditional leaders in these areas.

The MEC said all members of the affected communities are encouraged to attend the imbizo meetings and elect their representatives to the LHTL.

So far the achievements include the;

  • Approval of Regulations for the establishment of the LHTL,
  • Establishment of the Steering Committee (SC),
  • Appointment of the Project Team to oversee the entire operation to establish the LHTL.

Members of the SC are drawn from former Executive Members of the EC House of Traditional Leaders (ECHTL), Congress of Traditional Leaders of South Africa (CONTRALESA), and representatives of Kings, Speakers of five (5) District Municipalities and a Metro Municipality, South African Local Government Association (SALGA) and Independent Electoral Commission (IEC).

Some of the Terms of Reference (ToR) for the SC include to;

• advise MEC Xasa,

• serve as reference group on the processes of establishing LH,

• facilitate the resolution of problems, and

• monitor progress of the Work Streams.

“The Steering Committee will oversee and facilitate the process of the establishment of Local Houses of Traditional Leaders. Progressively we are implementing our plan within the agreed timelines,” said MEC Xasa

The establishment of the LHTL is meant to “restore the dignity of traditional leaders and transform their institutions” in line with the democratic dispensation in the country.

“All meetings must be held on the same day throughout the Province with members of traditional communities participating to nominate, select or elect candidates to serve in the Local Houses of Traditional Leaders,” said MEC Xasa.

He added that: “We are determined to ensure that the entire process is technically sound and done in line with provisions of the law and applicable regulations without deviating. The Premier of the Province and myself will act as referees, where there are disputes to achieve a free and fair election process,” said MEC Xasa.

MEC Xasa added that the membership of the LHTL will consist of Kings and Queens or their representatives, 60% of senior traditional leaders and 40% of headmen or headwomen.

“The process will also ensure the empowerment of women through proper representation in all levels,” said MEC Xasa.

Before assuming their functions in the LHTL, the new members will be sworn in by taking an oath of office before a Magistrate. Once that is done, the process to select or elect representatives to the ECPHTL will start and be finished the same day. The entire process will be finalised in September 2017.

MEC Xasa said the election process is guided by the Provincial Traditional Local Governance Act which is aligned to the National Framework on Traditional Leadership. Ends.


Issued by the Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs.

Enquires: Mr Mamnkeli Ngam on 071 685 7981.

Posted in Uncategorized.