The process to inaugurate the new members of the Eastern Cape Provincial House of Traditional Leaders (ECHTL) is set for 26 September 2017 in the Bhisho. The event will be officiated by the Judge President of the Eastern Cape High Court.

Thirty eight (38) members of the Provincial House will be nominated from members of the Local Houses of Traditional Leaders (LHTL).  The elections of members of the LHTL will be held on 18 September 2017 flowing from the Imbizo meetings to nominate candidates held on 07 September 2017 in the Province.

“Currently, we are busy with the verification process of the candidate lists to prepare a credible Voters Roll. Unqualifying candidates will not appear in the Voters Roll and they will be notified accordingly in writing,” said Cogta MEC Fikile Xasa.

He said all candidates are advised to carry their bar coded Identity Documents or ID Cards to the election venues. MEC Xasa added that the swearing in the newly elected members of the LHTL will take place on 20 September 2017 to be officiated by District Magistrates.

He thanked key stakeholders and communities for their support in the process to establish the Local Houses.

The confirmed venues for the elections on 18 September 2017 are as follows:

1. Buffalo City Metro Municipality Robbie De Lange Hall, Greenfields,   East London
2. Amatole District Municipality Msobomvu Community Hall, Butterworth
3. Chris Hani District Municipality Indoor Sports Centre, Thobikula,   Queenstown
4. Joe Gqabi District Municipality Joe Gqabi Council Chambers, Barkly   East
5. OR Tambo District Municipality O.R Tambo Municipal Hall, Southernwood,   Mthatha
6. Alfred Nzo District Municipality Alfred Nzo Conference Centre

Issued by the Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs. For enquiries, please contact: Mamnkeli Ngam: 071 685 7981.

Posted in Uncategorized.