Eastern Cape Premier Phumulo Masualle will officiate the swearing in of thirty eight (38) new members of the Eastern Cape House of Traditional Leaders (ECHTL) on 26 September 2017, in the House Chamber in Bhisho. The swearing in will be done the Judge President of the Eastern Cape High Court. The term of office of the former members of the House expired at the end of May 2017. The members of the House are drawn from the Local Houses of Traditional Leaders (LHTL) which have just been established throughout the Province.

“The processes to nominate, elect and swear in members of the Local Houses have been completed successfully without any incident reported. Now we are ushering in new members of the Provincial House to uphold the principles of our Constitutional democracy,” said MEC Xasa.

He added that the establishment of the Houses of traditional leaders locally and provincially is meant to “restore the dignity of traditional leadership institutions.”

Amongst the invited dignitaries is the Deputy Minister for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Mr Obed Bapela, the six Kings of the Province, Members of the Executive Councils, Executive Mayors and Speakers of District and Metro municipalities across the Province. Members of the media are invited to attend and confirm attendance to Mr Welile Jack on 082 559 6183 or at

Issued by the Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs.

Enquiries: Mamnkeli Ngam: 071 685 7981.

Posted in Uncategorized.