Nelson Mandela


Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality is a Category A municipality. Nelson Mandela Bay is a major seaport and automotive manufacturing centre located on the south-eastern coast of Africa in the Eastern Cape province. It is the economic powerhouse of the Eastern Cape province and one of six metropolitan areas in South Africa. The city is a holiday hot spot for both national and international tourists. The predominant languages spoken are English, Afrikaans and isiXhosa. Its boundaries are formed by Cassie Mountain View in the north, Cape Recife in the south, Van Stadens River Mouth in the west, and Sundays River Mouth in the east. The Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality was established on 5 December 2000. Nelson Mandela Bay was the first city in South Africa to establish a fully integrated democratic local authority and the only city in the world named after Nelson Mandela, who was born and spent his formative years in the Eastern Cape.
Cities/Towns: Bethelsdorp, Bloemendal, Blue Horizon Bay, Clarendon Marine, Despatch, Kwa Nobuhle, Motherwell, Port Elizabeth, Uitenhage
Main Economic Sectors: Manufacturing (33%), community, social and personal services (20%), financial, insurance, real estate and business services (15%)

Accounts: 041 506 5555
Electricity: 041 374 4434
Refuse & Waste Removal: 041 506 2018
Roads: 041 506 2428
Service Delivery: 0800 20 50 50
Water: 041 506 2258
General Enquiries: 041 506 3111

Postal: PO Box 116, Port Elizabeth, 6000
Physical: City Hall, Vuyisile Mini Square, Govan Mbeki Avenue, Nelson Mandela Bay
Tel: 041 506 3208/9
Fax: 041 506 2422